October 14, 2014: Meeting with Dr. Parikh

Jonathan, my husband, went with me to my appointment. My yearly exam wasn’t scheduled until December 19th, but they moved it up in order to check out the lump that hadn’t gone away, but it had grown to the size of a small marble by this point. He waited in the lobby, while I went to visit with the doctor. I told Dr. Parikh I’d been running and that I had quit drinking sodas the first part of July. I also told her about falling into my filing cabinet but no bruise had ever developed and the lump had appeared to get larger instead of smaller. She didn’t seem very concerned. She did my breast exam and did confirm she also felt the lump I spoke of, but she didn’t want me to worry about it at all. She was pretty confident it was nothing more than a calcium deposit or a fibrocystic change in which both are benign. She told me I would probably need to have them taken out, so she was going to order a needle biopsy and a mammogram. Before sending me over to have a mammogram done, she checked my estrogen level and was shocked to find it was extremely low. Because of this low level, she gave me some estrogen creme to start using that day.

When I went across the hall for my mammogram and biopsy, I was informed they couldn’t do them that day. I had to reschedule. It was okay. I didn’t really need to worry about anything since my doctor had just informed me everything appeared to be benign and my estrogen was too low. Those both seemed like easy fixes.

My husband was concerned though. In fact, he had seemed so concerned from the beginning. I was the worrier not him. I couldn’t understand his stress over everything even after I had told him the doctor said not to worry about anything.

About courage2conquercancer

At the age of 40, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. This is an account of my journey from my discovery and beyond.
This entry was posted in before cancer, finding the lump and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

