October 25, 2014: Listening to God

When God speaks – Listen.
When God says to do something – Do it.

How simple those words are to say, but how complex we make it all. First, which voice in my head is God’s? Secondly, how do I even do what He asks when it seems so impossible?

The voice asking you to do something you really don’t want to or feel uncomfortable doing – That is probably God. He seems to work like that. I’ve heard forcing you to think differently, to go outside your comfort zone, and to try things in a new way are the signs of a great teacher. Not that I would know anything about teaching or anything. 🙂

To do the impossible only takes 3 good things: faith, hope & love

112 days ago, I gave up soda on more than a whim. God said, “Quit!” I argued. I’d tried this before & had always failed. Why bother again? He said my father’s favorite line, “Because I said so.” I quit. The longest I’ve ever gone before is 100 days. I counted every day. I marked them off a calendar. Day 101, I drank one to celebrate not drinking them. Sounds really stupid in retrospect. By day 103, it was as though I’d never quit. This time, I “quit for life”. There’s no calendar to mark off. Today, I had to use a calendar & a calculator to figure up how many days it had been though.

12 days after I quit drinking soda, God spoke again. “Go run.”
My reply was, “God, I don’t really like to run. Can I do something else?”
His answer was “No.”
We forget sometimes that He knows that word. We don’t always think it’s fair when He says it to us. I guess that’s why He is symbolized as the father and we are called His children.

Then, I complained some more. “Schools about to start. There will be no time for this.”
God’s reply, “Make time.”
“Hey, God? You told me to set my priorities. Shouldn’t my family go before working out? If I do this, you’re asking me to put it before my family.”
His reply, “No, I’m asking you to put it before yourself.”
Ouch!
“Get up earlier and go.”
“Ummm, God, you didn’t create me to be a morning person. I’m a night owl. Remember?”
God is probably rolling His eyes at this point. He replies, “I created you. Believe in me when I say I know what is best. I’ll get you up. I’ll give you rest. You’ll have the time. It won’t be easy, but it will be worth it.”
I got up. I went for a run. It sucked. 100 days later, it still does. I still go.

Today, God’s voice simply said, “Lay all your problems down at my feet. Don’t quit. Sunshine is coming!”

God speaks my language! The Son heals me!

About courage2conquercancer

At the age of 40, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. This is an account of my journey from my discovery and beyond.
This entry was posted in breast cancer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

