October 29, 2014: The MRI

Today, I had to go in for a MRI to insure the cancer is only on my left breast and not just my right, and they also hope it will show if it has traveled into any of my lymph nodes. We are praying it is all contained within the single tumor.

As soon as you walk into the hospital, you must answer the Ebola questions. They even put a special band on you, so everyone knows you have answered the Ebola questions.

Meeting with the financial people before a procedure is always so difficult. Nothing is cheap, but it’s frustrating to me to pay insurance premiums every month knowing they will cover absolutely nothing until I pay $6000. I’m sure Obamacare is good for someone, but we went from having amazing insurance to feeling like we basically don’t have insurance. Maybe, I will feel differently once it starts paying towards the bills, but right now I feel like I’m a bank quickly running out of money, and that’s scary!

My MRI tech or nurse was amazing. She seems to really love her job. She made me smile. I’m not fond of being placed inside of tube and told to be completely still. That’s extremely difficult for me. I don’t know how many times I was told to control my breathing. Obviously, I was trying to hyperventilate in there. They gave me headphones but I could barely hear the music because of the thumping noises. I asked several times to turn it up, but it never was loud enough. My jaw hurt so bad from clenching it throughout the procedure. I’m so thankful it is over. Now, we must wait. Always waiting it seems.

About courage2conquercancer

At the age of 40, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. This is an account of my journey from my discovery and beyond.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

