October 30, 2014: In All Things Give Thanks

How much I have to be thankful for just today.

My box at school has had a constant flow of kindness all week. I was reminded today why I teach my kids to write. Words heal. Words encourage. Words bring strength. Words show kindness. Words are powerful.

My boss has been amazing! There are not enough genuine words of thanks for her right now. She’s been with me from respecting my privacy in the beginning when I really knew nothing to the constant support and pure kindness she’s shown once my situation became scarier and every day since. And she found me green flowers! I didn’t even know green flowers existed. 

My students know nothing and yet they seem to sense something. Their hugs are a little tighter. They work a little harder. They try all my crazy ways of thinking. They work hard.

My coworkers who all covered for me today. I probably don’t even know who all did what, but I’m thankful to them all.

My husband, my knight in shining armor, came and picked me up early from work today because Nurse Nancy said my blood pressure was too low to safely drive. He never complained. He just dropped everything and came. He smiled at me. I love that smile!

I took a nap and actually slept.

My son-of-the heart, Pablo, went with Jon to pick up K’Lee and to get my car.

My little man checked on me. His simple conversation, his hug full of little boy love even though he’s so big now, and his quick change in conversation when he got chocked up added more to my love bucket.

My baby girl with her head on my chest talking ninety miles a minute about her theater class and the stress of her upcoming production and all things school brought me such joy. She’s become one awesome young lady I’m proud to call my own.

The powerful words from my brother & sister-in-law reminding me cancer is as much a blessing as it is a curse. I pray my journey blesses many, and I find a way to see through the darkness and always find the light in every situation.

And my meditation verse tonight is as fitting as my verse of the day:
1 Thessalonians 5:18
“Give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”

Dear God, please help me always find the greatness and to give thanks always no matter what.

About courage2conquercancer

At the age of 40, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. This is an account of my journey from my discovery and beyond.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

