November 12, 2014: An Honest Steroid Report

Day 1 – Twitching, sleepless night – this is why normal people don’t take steroids at night. My doctor felt it best to get started right away since my numbers were so low. She obviously doesn’t sleep with me. Poor Jon!

Day 2 – Edward Scissorhands Leads Out The Cry Baby – my work day started in the dark because the electricity was out. DFW isn’t built for cold and wind. That meant there was this annoying beeping alarm going off. It ticked off every nerve in my entire body. Remember I must teach kindly. The lights came back on, but oh, those kids just couldn’t contain their excitement about being at school in the dark. More nerves firing I didn’t even know I had. Every single tiny noise went up 100 decibels (I really have no clue how much that really is to be honest)! I wanted to run some Edward Scissorhands fingernails down my chalkboard (yes, I still have one!). I refrained only to come home, walk into the bedroom, and burst into tears. Jon saved the evening. He let me cry. He told me he was proud of me. (I think he was secretly just grateful I hadn’t done something stupid to lose my job) Great day!

Day 3 – The Incredible Hulk – maybe the leasing office lady shouldn’t have picked this day to make excuses. Whew! She thought I was kind, nice, and patient. (Yes, she even said that.) I got my package they told me on Friday they didn’t have. (It was junk mail by the way) 3 months later my carpet got fixed. My chimney better be fixed tomorrow because you never know what I might be by then. They are working on my water bill statements I haven’t received in 18 months. (This is what caused the green moment in the first place) I’d call it a good day to be green! By the time I returned to school, I was back to my smiling human self. Fun times!

Day 4 – ???

Some days a sense of humor is all I’ve got. Thank you God for my warped, sarcastic, sometimes only funny to me way to have a good laugh when I might otherwise scream, cry, feel sorry for myself, or hurt someone!

About courage2conquercancer

At the age of 40, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. This is an account of my journey from my discovery and beyond.
This entry was posted in Addison's Disease, before cancer, side effects and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

