November 20, 2014: A Half-Empty Glass

Today, we talked about setting one’s focus in our vertical team meeting. I understand exactly what that means. I’m very focused. Maybe too focused.

People have told me for years, today included, a half-empty glass perspective is bad, but the reality of that is false. I’m typically a glass half-empty kind of girl; and if the drink was worth drinking half of, I might as well drink it all! So I’m drinking in a ton of goodness right now because my focus is on all the good coming from my half-empty glass. See, that half-empty glass isn’t so bad after all!

I gave God a broken glass. It couldn’t hold more than a couple drops at a time. He said, “Fear not!” Faith trusted Him to fill the cracks, and slowly my cup began to fill. Doubt might sneak in and my cup might spring a leak, but each time I’d hand it back to God and He would say, “Fear not, I am with you.”

Some days my cup is full and overflowing into someone else’s cup. Other days I’m drinking up the goodness I’ve been blessed with, so my cup might appear half-empty. And there will be times when my cup is empty, but only until someone else’s runs over until it fills mine half-way up again.

God has assured me that all is well with my soul; therefore, I have nothing to fear regardless of the state of my glass or the amount of liquid inside it.

Don’t let a half-empty glass, an empty glass, or even a shattered glass fool you. One drop of God’s greatness will fix the glass, and He will provide the liquid needed to fill up your cup. That is as long as you trust Him with your cup.

Psalms 37:5 – Commit everything you do to the LORD. Trust him, and he will help you.

My cup might appear half-empty right now, but rest assured it is full!

About courage2conquercancer

At the age of 40, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. This is an account of my journey from my discovery and beyond.
This entry was posted in breast cancer, faith and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

