December 2, 2014: Meeting with Oncologist

Today, we met with the oncologist (Dr. Krekow). I could try and use all the medical jargon she used, but it would just sound like a foreign language to most of you. Basically, my kind of cancer was a fast growing, quick multiplying, and badly behaved mess of masses. Since I’m young, cancer seems to be part of my family tree, and breast cancer growing somewhere else can’t be cured, we’ve opted for aggressively treating these naughty cells that might have escaped with chemotherapy. We’ve struggled with this decision, and it’s still hard to hold the tears back as I think about what’s to come. I honestly don’t want to go through chemo. My family does. I love my family more than I love myself, so chemo will be what’s next for me. God has this part too, and as I’ve thought of this I’ve had this verse running through my head all afternoon.
Psalm 46:2 – Therefore we will not fear, though the earth give way and the mountains fall into the heart of the sea…

I know many of you have been praying and will continue to pray – thank you! The fight just got a little tougher, but God will give me the strength of a lion or a bear or whatever beast is aggressive to beat this!

About courage2conquercancer

At the age of 40, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. This is an account of my journey from my discovery and beyond.
This entry was posted in breast cancer, chemo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

