December 18, 2014: Chemo Day #3 – Not a Fun Day

I’ve spent most of today puking, thinking I might vomit, or wishing I could just throw up so I could feel better. This is not a very fun way to spend the day.

Everything that worked yesterday, didn’t work so well today. I have managed to eat a bowl of chicken noodle soup and keep it down. That’s quite an accomplishment when even water wasn’t my friend.

It took me until around one o’clock to take all my morning meds. This lead to a domino effect of awfulness. I had to take my steroids one at a time instead of all at once. This meant I was basically functioning in a near adrenal crisis state which is not cool. Addison’s Disease and chemo don’t mix. When my cortisol level drops too low, I get a horrible headache inside my brain that makes it feel like I need to drill a hole through the top of my head to relieve the pressure. It also intensifies all those chemo side effects: dizziness, nausea, fatigue, no appetite, etc.

I also couldn’t keep down my anti-inflammatory drugs. The white blood cell booster shot made my bones feel like they were broken, not just achy. I cried with each step to the bathroom. This was awful. Relief came an hour or so after I was able to tolerate the meds. Thankfully, I’m just to feeling like I have the flu right now. Who would have ever thought that feeling would be an improvement?

I’ve managed to sleep some today. That’s been good because I feel extremely wasted. Every time I wake up, I just want to go back to sleep.

Water hasn’t been my friend today. Jon did buy an ice machine today. The first batch was nasty, so he had to go buy water to make the ice with. I’m not sure how this is going to save us any money, but ice is still water. I could tolerate it better than just water.
Propel has been my beverage of choice today. It’s stayed down. Yay!

I also managed some hot tea. Maybe I won’t dry up into dust and blow away after all.
I’m finally feeling better, for this I am so thankful. If you’ve been praying for me, thank you again. I know suffering is probably part of the plan, but comfort after the suffering is a precious gift. Praise God for relief!

Ephesians 5:20 – Giving thanks always for all things unto God and the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ

About courage2conquercancer

At the age of 40, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. This is an account of my journey from my discovery and beyond.
This entry was posted in Addison's Disease, chemo and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

