December 28, 2014: So Many Gifts of Kindness

When we arrived home from our Christmas trip to Jon’s parents’ house, Jonathan discovered an envelop had been forced under our door. The address was nothing more than a printed computer label, and the card simply had “Merry Christmas” printed on it. Inside was money we will use to help pay off the stack of medical bills also awaiting us in our mailbox. We have no idea who to thank for this amazing act of kindness and generosity, but we are very grateful for this amazing gift.

Last night, God and I had a conversation about how all of this was going to play out. I threw all my questions at Him and all my concerns. God kept reminding me of the sparrows and the flowers. (Matthew 6:26-34)

He dresses them. God has provided through many gifts from so many of you following this page (and several who aren’t) the clothes needed for my mastectomy, my growing children, and my need for a changing wardrobe to address the new challenges in my life brought on by cancer.

He feeds them. We’ve had meals brought to us and bought for us. We’ve had our groceries paid for several times over. My co-workers and friends alone have provided at least 20 days worth of meals for our family. Many of their church families have contributed to our family as well even though we are total strangers to them.

He protects them. God gave me my family and friends as my shield and my sword. I feel as though one is always in front of me to guard from whatever lies ahead and the other is there to catch me from whatever attempts to knock me down.

When I first told others of my diagnosis, I was flooded with the question, “How can I help?” I had no clue what I even needed then. I don’t know exactly what I’ll need in the future. I do know God has used so many of you reading this post to meet my needs and the needs of my family.

One of the first gifts I was given after diagnosis was a simple rubber wristband with the words, “God Is Enough” printed on it. One of my co-workers gave it to me with a beautifully written letter. God IS enough because of people like so many of you who listen and obey His call “to do unto others as you would have done unto you”. (Matthew 7:12)

Tonight, I want to specifically thank each one of you who have provided for my family and me in some form or fashion. Your generosity has become our answered prayers!
Thank you!

About courage2conquercancer

At the age of 40, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. This is an account of my journey from my discovery and beyond.
This entry was posted in Acts of Kindness, faith and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to December 28, 2014: So Many Gifts of Kindness

  1. mitchteemley says:

    Feel funny click Like, since I’m not one of those you mention (just discovered your page), but found your post compelling. Blessings and prayers.

    Like

Leave a Reply

