December 30, 2014: A Normal Day

Today was a normal day doing normal things a normal woman with two kids and a husband would do. It wasn’t a perfect day. That would make it be an abnormal day for a normal person, wouldn’t it? 

 I went shopping with Jonathan. We stopped at the new REI store. We loved this store when we lived in the northeast, so we were excited to see a new store open near us. We used a gift card from someone to buy some new beanies. I’m not handling this short hair and cold weather very well, but I am learning to rock the beanie. We also went grocery shopping together. Of course we couldn’t just go to one store to complete our list. That wouldn’t be normal, would it? 

 Then I took K’Lee out to spend part of her Christmas money. She was on a mission with a list. A new shelf, new paintbrushes, and a list of colors of paint so she could paint her first painting. Wow! She paints like a pro. I stand in awe of this child’s creative talent. That’s probably not normal for most kids, but it’s normal for this kid. 

  

Of course I told her this wall shelf she bought would work as a stand alone shelf. Nope, it doesn’t. That’s a normal me moment right there.

  

 JT asked me to drive him to the park so he could go fishing. I think fishing in the winter is abnormal, but he finds it to be therapeutic or something. I watched him walk off with his dog, tackle box, and fishing pole, and I just had to smile. That boy is growing up to be a man. I’m not ready. That’s 100% normal. I don’t know many moms wishing for their kids to get grown and get gone. When it was time for him to come back at sunset, he was so busy fishing he didn’t hear his phone. Thanks to this normal boy behavior, I was able to get a mile walk in and hear some fish stories. 

   

 

 Jonathan cooked up some bacon for breakfast burritos for dinner. I know we aren’t the only ones that eat bacon at all meal times, so don’t judge us.:) Bacon at any meal time is perfectly normal. 

 I had a list of things I wanted to accomplish today. I marked a lot of things off. No, not everything. That’s what made it a normal day. My list is always longer than there are hours in a day. That’s my normal.

As I was putting away Christmas gift bags, I came across another one of those WOW! gifts. A friend who’s fighting breast cancer too has come over several times. She’s a ray of sunshine and has been a huge support system for me. Our wars against cancer are being fought in different ways, but we both know we aren’t having to fight alone. Somehow that makes this all a little easier. Anyway, this gift bag wouldn’t fold because it had an unopened card from Melissa inside. I don’t know how I missed it, but it didn’t surprise me. I’ve been out of it more days than I’ve been with it since November and maybe even before that. Inside that card were the sweetest words of encouragement and a blessing of overwhelming kindness. Those white blood cell replacement booster shots may continue to be a pain in my bones, but they are no longer a financial burden. What kind of an awesome gift is that?!?! I’m so thankful for this surprise gift. I’m also glad I’m a gift bag recycler, or I would have probably just tossed that bag in the trash without discovering the gift inside of it. See, it pays to be a little bit of a hoarder. smile emoticon Thanks again, Girl, for adding your normal kind self to my normal day!!! 

 College football played on the TV part of the day. Normal day around here. We live in Texas. We love football. Normal. 

  

 Life isn’t always fair. Ask our kids or ask us. We have to do things we don’t want to do. We get upset over stuff that really isn’t as big of a deal as we thought it was at the time. We still have responsibilities to tend to that we don’t always want to do. We still make messes. Mommies don’t like messes. And who wants to work during our time off from school and work? Does this sound normal to you? 

 I’ve spent so many days wishing for “normal” to return. I forgot normal sometimes is tough too. Life, in general, is full of challenges, struggles, and battles. All of us are on our own journeys and it doesn’t matter if we are sick or healthy, if things are going our way or not, normal days are filled with highs, lows, and, like today, a combination of both. Ugh! A reminder that normal doesn’t mean perfect. 

 My mediation verse today was 1 John 1:5 – This then is the message which we have heard of him, and declare unto you, that God is light, and in him is no darkness at all. 

 Here’s perfect – God! I’m nowhere close. I have learned though that the more I seek Him the brighter His light shines through me. It doesn’t make me perfect. I still have lots of darkness inside of me. I think that’s normal, but when it comes to this I’m constantly striving to become more and more abnormal.

About courage2conquercancer

At the age of 40, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. This is an account of my journey from my discovery and beyond.
This entry was posted in breast cancer and kids and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

