January 3, 2015: 6 Weeks Post-Op

There’s a reason in days long gone a person waited six weeks before returning to work after a major surgery. It takes this long to mostly heal.

Range of motion is still a bit limited and painful if I move too quickly or outside my limitations.

I can lift and carry more weight now.

I’ve figured out how to drive.

As crazy as it may sound, the area where my drains went in are still super tender even though all that’s left is a small purple, bruise-like scar.

My bone pain at my tumor site is gone or at least I don’t notice it anymore.

My chest isn’t so tight anymore, but my plastic surgeon is on vacation so it’s been a couple weeks since my last fill.

I can sleep on my side…YAY!!! It’s been a long time coming!

I don’t notice the expanders anymore.

My skin is still ultra sensitive.

I’m still not used to the new look, but it’s better than it was 6 weeks ago.

If chemo wasn’t part of my life, I think I’d be sitting in pretty good shape right now.
Chemo is exhausting though. I don’t know how else to explain it other than that. It can take my healthy seeming body and destroy it in a matter of hours. It’s tough on the psyche to go from feeling like I’m on top of the world to being pushed into the depths of Hell. Chemo is at war with my physical body, my mind, and my emotions, and some days I’m too tired to fight so I just sleep.

My port is getting better. I hardly notice it now. The glue is hanging on for dear life though. My skin seems to latch on to sticky stuff for some reason. The bruising is almost all gone now, and I think the swelling is all down. I have to admit that it’s nice to not have an IV started every time I go to chemo.

I’m not sure how people do this whole cancer thing without God. It must be miserable for them. I have an amazing husband, family, friends, support system, yet I cling to God’s word. I replay scriptures I know by heart over and over again in my head when I’m not feeling well. I pray for my family. I pray for strength and relief. Some days I just pray for peace of mind. I feel God’s hand on me. I feel peace that can only come from Him. I can’t imagine going through this without God by my side.

About courage2conquercancer

At the age of 40, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. This is an account of my journey from my discovery and beyond.
This entry was posted in AC chemo, faith, mastectomy, port surgery and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

