February 8, 2015: Footprints

This is one of my favorite poems of all times.

Footprints in the Sand

One night I dreamed I was walking along the beach with the Lord. Many scenes from my life flashed across the sky.

In each scene I noticed footprints in the sand. Sometimes there were two sets of footprints, other times there was one only.

This bothered me because I noticed that during the low periods of my life, when I was suffering from anguish, sorrow or defeat, I could see only one set of footprints, so I said to the Lord, “You promised me Lord, that if I followed you, you would walk with me always. But I have noticed that during the most trying periods of my life there has only been one set of footprints in the sand. Why, when I needed you most, have you not been there for me?”

The Lord replied, “The years when you have seen only one set of footprints, my child, is when I carried you.”

-Mary Stevenson, 1936

I can honestly say, I’ve been carried and not just during my battle against breast cancer either. I’m sure we’ve all had some dark, low, struggling moments in our lives when we’ve all needed to be carried through them by God. Some will give Him thanks while others deny He was ever there. He loves us all so much that He’ll always be there in our darkest hours. That’s why He’s awesome! I’m thankful for those footprints, especially the single set when I have been carried.

When I began this journey called “breast cancer”, there’s never been just two sets of footprints. I’ve had so many sets in front of me that they’ve worn a path before me. It’s not smooth, but it’s also not as tough and scary as it once was.

I’ve walked nearby a friend, Melissa, and my aunt, Ola. Melissa was about a month in front of me, and Ola is about a month behind me. Forever the middle child. 🙂 Melissa is now cancer free. It’s something we celebrate every day because this is my hope. My day is coming. My celebration will offer Ola hope because her day will follow mine. I can’t even attempt to describe what kind of power has come from these women. The bond I share with them now is unbelievable!

I’ve also been surrounded by friends, family, acquaintances, and strangers. My beach has been busy, and the sand around me is covered in footprints.

Support-Hope-Celebration-Support is the never ending cycle of breast cancer. I pray my footprints become someone else’s support and hope, so they too can celebrate and support someone else in their journey. No one ever has to walk this journey alone. It’s a promise we all unknowingly swear to the moment we decide to become warriors and fight!

About courage2conquercancer

At the age of 40, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. This is an account of my journey from my discovery and beyond.
This entry was posted in breast cancer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

