January 26, 2015: My Breast Cancer: A Brief Synopsis

I’ve discovered many women follow this page because they are a breast cancer survivor or because they are fighting to become a breast cancer survivor. Even though we all fall under the breast cancer umbrella our cancers are all different; therefore, they are treated in an array of ways. Despite widespread breast cancer awareness campaigns and fundraisers, many breast cancer patients fight in the shadows.

I’ve learned so much from all the women who have fought this war before me, and from those currently in the trenches with me. This has become a very educational page.

Here’s my brief synopsis: I was diagnosed with Stage 3 ductal carcinoma at the age of 40. Due to the invasive and aggressiveness of the tumor plus my family history, I opted for a double mastectomy with reconstruction. I tested positive for the BRAC2 gene. I have 4 rounds of AC chemo (one more to go) followed by 12 rounds of weekly Taxol chemo. At some point before I’m 45, I’ll have to make a decision regarding a total hysterectomy. I’m awaiting the day when I get to yell from the mountain top, “I am a survivor!” Yes, I really plan on doing this! The mountain will come with an ocean view too. đŸ™‚

I fight each day because I have faith God has an amazing purpose and plan for this journey. No life was ever created to be wasted. I asked God to use me in the very beginning for His will and not my own. I pray He uses your story too.

About courage2conquercancer

At the age of 40, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. This is an account of my journey from my discovery and beyond.
This entry was posted in breast cancer and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

