February 15, 2015: Chemo Vacation

Chemo vacation hasn’t happened without some struggles.

1. Hot flashes galore – obviously chemo has sent me into a menopause like state. Anyone know how to solve this problem without the use of hormone therapy? Since my cancer is hormone fed, that will never be an option.

2. As if hot flashes weren’t keeping me up enough at night add night sweats totally unrelated to hot flashes. I could probably increase my steroids to stop this, but then insomnia will keep me up all night.

3. I think The Red Devil is coming out of my pores. Is that even possible? If not, I’m bleeding from the pores on my forehead for no known reason.

4. I thought the break from chemo would allow me a glimpse of energy. Instead, I still feel very fatigued. Maybe that’s because of #1 & #2 or chemo has a long half life.

5. I never suffered from anxiety/panic attacks before chemo. Not having chemo on its regularly scheduled day has shown me a glimpse of this horrible mental battle.

Some advantages to this chemo vacation.

1. My white blood cell counts and platelet counts are on the low side of normal, but normal isn’t something I’ve heard since mid-December.

2. I worked 9 out of the past 10 work days.

3. My counts were high enough to get a fill towards reconstruction.

4. I haven’t felt nauseated at all in at least 10 days.

5. My hair is starting to grow back.

Every day God grants me is a good day to be alive. I have so much to be thankful for no matter what obstacles there are.

About courage2conquercancer

At the age of 40, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. This is an account of my journey from my discovery and beyond.
This entry was posted in AC chemo, side effects and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

