February 19, 2015: Feeling Fine & Being Well Isn’t Necessarily Equal

I prepared my mind so much for this appointment. Some things went great and other things didn’t even get started.

We thought our appointment had been moved up to accommodate the doctor’s schedule. Instead, it was to add in a financial meeting to explain what portion insurance pays and the part we’re responsible for. If you’ve ever wondered how someone meets a $10,000 out of pocket maximum on their insurance, call me. On the other side, I’m extremely thankful for those who attended college forever and have spent their adult lives studying breast cancer so I can get well and spend the rest of my life with my family.

Secondly, my labs all looked great. I never saw them this time though, but the doctor and nurse both said they were great, so I’m sure they were.

Next, I had to have a bump on my left breast checked out that was near my original tumor site. This has worried me a bit since it popped up last Sunday. Thankfully, it’s just another weird thing that goes along with reconstruction. Whew!

Finally, I made it back to the chemo lab. The smell when the nurse flushes my line gets me every time. I had to suck on my hard candy to help me out. Then they started my saline fluids and returned shortly with my pre-meds consisting of anti-nausea meds, a steroid, and Benadryl. My stomach obviously didn’t want any of that. About the time the IV pole started going crazy and the nurse shut it up, I got sick. I tried to fill that small blue throw up bag up. Just kidding. That would be awful in actuality. Anyway, the nurse spoke to the doctor and they think I have a bug of some sort. The doctor gave me another week off from chemo. Now, to kick this bug out of my gut!

Everything happens for a reason. . .

About courage2conquercancer

At the age of 40, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. This is an account of my journey from my discovery and beyond.
This entry was posted in chemo, side effects, Taxol and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

