February 27, 2015: Taxol: One Down – 11 to Go!

Taxol and AC Chemo are like night and day from one another. I think back to day two of AC, and I know this is nothing compared to The Red Devil and the Evil Twin. For this, I’m extremely grateful!

Obviously, I’m a bit allergic to Taxol. My night was spent itching and taking Benadryl with five or six hot flashes thrown in there for fun. I did manage some hours of sleep though because I felt pretty awesome this morning. I am currently having to stack my steroids for Addison’s Disease though to try and stay out of an adrenal crisis. The allergic reaction has compromised my immune system gifting me a puffy, extremely sore, fever blister. Dr. Krekow called in some antiviral meds and a sandy paste, so hopefully it will be dried out and mostly gone by Monday. The extra steroids bring out the irritation in me though and put me on edge. I need an “approach with caution” sign to warn people.

I made it until around eleven this morning before my face started flushing and my body started feeling like it was on fire. The itchiness continued despite double stacked allergy meds. All these are expected side effects the body goes through as it attempts to fight off the allergy. Currently, I’m thinking removing the first two layers of skin would be beneficial, and I’ve maxed out my allergy meds for the time being.

Yet, there’s so much I am so thankful for. My restless leg hasn’t been a part of this round! That might mean that stupid anti-nausea medication in my premeds has been the culprit all along. Maybe, I can put that painful side effect behind me for good now. The tingling in my fingers only lasted a couple of hours and hasn’t returned. Praise The Lord for this! I drank another limeade today and that metallic coating in my mouth is gone. Yay for that bit of advice from Nurse Krisa (I’m not sure on that spelling). The fatigue hit around five o’clock this afternoon, but it’s nothing compared to AC chemo fatigue. And the best part so far is NO nausea! I don’t feel like I might be on the edge of death and life like I did on the second day of AC Chemo. This is a beautiful gift in and of itself!

I did find out yesterday that I have officially enter chemo induced menopause. We already knew this, but the doctor went ahead and confirmed it. She doesn’t believe it is a permanent state though. In reality, it’s my body protecting itself. It just proves once again how miraculously we are all constructed and shows how God has placed all these innate protective systems into place. We are all miracles we take for granted.

2 Corinthians 3:5 – Not that we are competent in ourselves to claim anything for ourselves, but our competence comes from God.

About courage2conquercancer

At the age of 40, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. This is an account of my journey from my discovery and beyond.
This entry was posted in AC chemo, chemo, faith, side effects, Taxol and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

