March 6, 2015: Breast Cancer and Sleep

I read an interesting article today about breast cancer and sleep. Women who don’t go to sleep until after 10PM increase their risk for breast cancer significantly. Apparently there’s this magical window of time when your body should decrease your production of estrogen. If you stay up late, you miss this window of opportunity. This allows the levels of estrogen to stay constant which creates excess food for “broken cells”. You’re actually “feeding” the bad cells by not sleeping.

If this is true, I started “feeding” bad cells at a very early age. I’ve struggled with going to sleep most of my life. As a kid, I’d hide under my covers with a flashlight and read my books until the wee hours of the morning.

Anyone else who has had or does have breast cancer guilty of being a night owl? This curious mind is now very curious.

UPDATE: All but one person who’s been diagnosed with breast cancer who responded to my original post on my FB page stated they too were “night owls”.

About courage2conquercancer

At the age of 40, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. This is an account of my journey from my discovery and beyond.
This entry was posted in breast cancer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

