April 10, 2015: You Must Know Cancer

There’s a dark and secret place only cancer patients know. It’s a place you can only experience if you know cancer. Most cancer patients fight to stay away, but all will visit. If you only knew cancer, you’d understand.

No one talks about this place. It’s like one of those secrets that hangs out with the skeletons locked up in one’s closet. If you know cancer, you’d like to lock the door and lose the key. Unfortunately, cancer won’t let that happen. In fact, the exact moment you should stay away is exactly when you wind up there. You must know cancer to comprehend all that.

Nothing good comes from this place which is why we try to avoid it at all costs. Ironically, we are pulled there by the exact same things being used to save us. We’ve all experienced a glimpse of hell here. You must know cancer to know I’m right.

This frightening and ghastly place isn’t where most of us stay though. We fight to return to the light. We hold on to our faith, to hope, to love, and we spend more days away from this dark hole because of it. Cancer would like us to stay here, but it doesn’t realize just how strong it truly helps make us. To know cancer means you know exactly why allowing it to win just isn’t an option for most of us.

I’m thankful I met cancer face to face. I had a lot to say! I’ve journeyed to the dark place, but God’s light has always spared me from ever being locked inside. I cling to The Light. I reach for the hand of God, and unlike cancer He’s never let me down. Cancer has actually drawn me closer to The Light who’s made me stronger, more determined, and armed me well for the war. To know cancer is awful. To know God is always there to rescue me from cancer’s darkest places brings me comfort and peace one can only know from knowing cancer and God at the same time.

Luke 10:19 – I have given you authority to trample on snakes and scorpions and to overcome all the power of the enemy; nothing will harm you.

 

About courage2conquercancer

At the age of 40, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. This is an account of my journey from my discovery and beyond.
This entry was posted in breast cancer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

