April 11, 2015: Relief

Sleep & I met up again last night. Yay!

The ‘roid rush is wearing off leaving only a headache behind. Incredible Hulk stomping and smashing has been replaced by a plain looking bald lady.

My restless leg still tries to dance at night and even breaks down a beat or two during the day. But my nerve is no longer on fire & no nausea so far this round.

After making multiple phone calls, being placed on hold for over 30 minutes, being disconnected, and a bit of sweet kindness through clenched teeth, my medical insurance has paid in full or partially paid for 23 claims they initially declined payment for and I had to file appeals for. This has been a huge mess and a crazy nightmare. It shouldn’t be this hard! I am hopefully well on my way to getting a case worker and a social worker to help me navigate through all this mess the rest of the year. We are hoping there’s some financial relief out there for us too which is why I will have a social worker. Having cancer is a full time job!

 

This was my verse of the day I mulled over yesterday: Colossians 2:6-7 – And now, just as you accepted Christ Jesus as your Lord, you must continue to follow him. Let your roots grow down into him, and let your lives be built on him. Then your faith will grow strong in the truth you were taught, and you will overflow with thankfulness.

I love the parts about allowing my roots to grow down into God and building my life upon Him. I’m sure I’ve read this verse before yesterday, but the visual image was so vivid it was almost eerie. I lived in the Oklahoma and Texas panhandles for a lot of years of my life. Root systems can grow to amazing depths in search of water deep down in the aquifers. In fact it’s nearly impossible to cut a plant off deep enough to kill it once it’s found a water supply. Cancer, as awful as it can be, has helped my root system spread out and down and all around God. Because of this, my life is being rebuilt on God Himself. How beautiful of a blessing I’ve been blessed with which leads to the last part of these verses. My faith gets stronger every day. Some days, my faith in God is all I have and the only thing that gets me through the day! And I will overflow with thankfulness – there’s much more to be thankful for because I’ve discovered where to place my value and where to cast my gaze. On even the worst of my days, I can always find thanksgiving.

Today, my son and husband will be at Texas A & M for a rugby tournament. I’m sad I won’t be there. I don’t like to miss out on my kids’ stuff, but I learned my lesson about traveling while on chemo. I do have the special honor of hanging out with my K’Lee girl today though which is a special treat to have one-on-one time with her.

Everyone enjoy your weekend.

 

About courage2conquercancer

At the age of 40, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. This is an account of my journey from my discovery and beyond.
This entry was posted in Abraxane, chemo, faith, family and cancer, side effects and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

