May 23, 2015: Carwash Day!

  I’d love to tell you the behind the scenes part of this story, but I don’t know it. I know my teammates from school were all behind formulating the idea, getting the kids’ buy in, and orchestrating it all. I’m so very grateful for Stefanie, Aubrey, and Jill for everything. Y’all are a class act!  

The 5th graders at the school where I teach put on a carwash fundraiser for me today. They made all the posters, flyers, and did lots of advertising. It was cloudy and looked like it could rain at anytime, and a whole slew of kids showed up anyway. Some of them even brought their siblings and parents. They danced, shouted, and pointed people in the direction of the carwash. They hosed down cars and each other. They washed those cars in soapy water and washed each other too. It was hilarious to observe it all in action. They had their assembly line going all the way down to drying off cars and spraying down tires. It was a beautiful sight to behold.  

           Their were so many volunteers, so many teachers who helped along with their spouses and kids, my son and husband, our school community, and all those kids! My heart is full. All this to raise $2431 to put towards my medical bills. It’s such a stress relief to know I can put several bills behind me now. This is a huge answer to my prayers.    

           If you played a role in today’s fundraiser, THANK YOU! Once again my school family saves the day! SGE, your support has been unbelievable! Y’all have made having cancer (and all the issues that come with it) so much easier. I love you all! 

*Thanks to Pastor Ben and Laurie Gerald for hosting the carwash at their church, Christ Wesleyan Congregational Methodist Church in Bedford, TX.  

 

About courage2conquercancer

At the age of 40, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. This is an account of my journey from my discovery and beyond.
This entry was posted in breast cancer, cancer and friends, fundraiser and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

