June 3, 2015: Why Jesus Calmed the Seas & Peter Walked on Water

I’m a lover of the sea. Perhaps I’m an islander misplaced at birth. Regardless, I find peace and happiness near great bodies of water like oceans. I tell my family every day before chemo I’m running away to the ocean. Tonight, God reminded me of two great moments on stormy water in the Bible. 
*The disciples and Jesus are out on the water when a storm approaches. Jesus is sleeping. The waves become huge and are crashing up against the boat, I’m sure the boat was taking on water. The disciples feared for their lives. As soon as Jesus awoke, he calmed the storm and questioned the faith of the disciples. 

**Jesus goes off on land to pray and the disciples get caught in a storm at sea. Jesus walks on the water towards them. When they see him, they fear he is a ghost. In order to prove he is not, Peter says to let him walk on the water out to Jesus. Peter starts walking on water but gets scared; therefore he starts sinking. Jesus rescues him and tells him he has little faith. 

Every Monday at first and now every Wednesday before chemo, I’ve wanted to run away to the ocean. I think God just put me in check by reminding me of these two stories from the Bible. 

If you’ve followed my story from the beginning, you know my faith in God hasn’t always been what it should have been. It was much easier to simply believe there is a God than to have faith in God and His plan for my life. God’s reminding me to have faith and believe in His plan no matter how bad the storm appears to my eyes. 

God has shown me times in my journey when He’s calmed the waves caused by the storm. He’s let me see times when I’ve confidently stepped out onto the water to get scared and sink. He’s also reminding me that He is great, and no matter what my life looks like right now there’s a great plan and purpose for all of it, so I should just have faith and give praise for all things….even chemo. 

Tonight, I’m going to praise God for a mostly healthy chemo cycle and for the great strength I’ve been given to get through the end of the school year. My prayer is to be always mindful that God has a plan, and it is good. 

*short retelling of Mark 4:35-41

**short retelling of Matthew 14:22-33

About courage2conquercancer

At the age of 40, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. This is an account of my journey from my discovery and beyond.
This entry was posted in breast cancer, chemo, faith and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

