July 3, 2015: Expander Be Gone

I think we arrived at the hospital a little before 9AM and were gone before noon. We could have been gone earlier, but my surgery was delayed because of the patient in front of me on the surgery schedule. I’ve spent more time in a doctor’s office than I did in the hospital today. How awesome is that?

My breast surgeon does surgery on Fridays, so she popped in to see me. She was sad I was having to have surgery again but said she feared it was going to have to happen after she had seen me on Tuesday. Plastic seems to like bacteria so much it won’t let go of it inside your body, and bleach Clorox wipes aren’t recommended for cleaning it either. Who would have thought? 🙂

When I had my mastectomy, I don’t even remember being wheeled down the hallway. When I had my port put in, I remember being moved over to the surgical table. This time, I remember going down the hall but that’s all. I just have to say I don’t like seeing the operating room so being out before I get there is much easier on me.

Jon says I usually struggle coming out of the fog after surgery, but I did really good this time. I actually remember waking up and asking for water. They gave me ice instead. That was fine but I really wanted that nasty, horrible taste to go away. By the time Jonathan was brought back they had already shot me up with 100mg of steroids to keep me from going into an adrenal crisis and were completing all my discharge paperwork. He helped me get dressed and we were out of there in no time.

I took some pain pills at home and went to sleep. Woke up a few hours later and had some lunch. Goodbye to that nasty taste. Yay! I have a cough and a scratchy throat, but I can live with that for a couple days.

Jon and K’Lee went to the store to buy groceries for dinner. (Yes, we are that kind of city family.) Anyway, they ran into a dear friend of ours and talked for a bit before continuing their shopping. They ended up in the same checkout line, and she bought our groceries. The kindness towards our family has just been outstanding. I’m left speechless every time. Thank you, Judy.

I think I prepared myself to have another mastectomy, so this surgery has seemed like a piece of cake so far. The pain is actually better than the pain I was dealing with before surgery. I don’t think I even realized how badly I was hurting until it wasn’t hurting anymore. I’m actually glad the expander is gone at this point. Mind you, I’m on pain meds so the tune of my song may change in the morning. 🙂 Regardless, I’m thankful for the use of one of my arms and way less pain.

This verse seems fitting and it’s one of my favorites.

1 Chronicles 16:34 – Oh give thanks to the LORD, for he is good; for his steadfast love endures forever!

About courage2conquercancer

At the age of 40, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. This is an account of my journey from my discovery and beyond.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

