July 7,  2015: Why a Recovery Tee?

My mom made my first recovery t-shirts. Kristi and I took feedback from others as well as what I had learned and redesigned the shirts. I wore several of our sample shirts to chemo as they made the process so much easier. Never did I intend, or desire, to test these shirts out with drains again though. But here I am with a drain in and wearing our Recovery Tees. 

What’s the point? Why would anyone want one or need one?

When you get out of surgery, your drains are pinned to your bandage. I should have taken a picture before they took mine off, but I was a bit out of it. Here’s my best reinactment.  

 I don’t know about you, but I have no desire to have this drain here. I can smell it. It’s gross! I don’t want to look at it. It’s nasty. Obviously, I wasn’t meant to be a nurse. 

The first plus about our shirts is the drain is gone. Off my skin and out of sight.  

 It’s tucked away inside one of the internal pockets. 

The shirts are soft against my skin. They allow my skin to breathe, so I don’t get sweaty. They don’t stick to me like other shirts do. They are easy for me to snap and unsnap with the limited use of my arm. There isn’t anything rough or uncomfortable up against me. This was a big deal to me because my skin is super sensitive. I’m allergic to tape, so my skin is exposed earlier than most people just because the tape eats my skin when left on for any amount of time. 

Another plus to our shirts is you can go out in public and no one really knows you’re hiding drains beneath your shirt.  

 I’m really sensitive about things like that, so I love this feature. Our shirts aren’t see through either which also helps with my confidence as I move in and out of the public eye. 

If you, or anyone you know, is about to go through a breast surgery or even cancer treatment, look into getting a Recovery Tee. If you need more information, please contact me. 

Purchase a Recovery Tee here!

Want to support someone who’s going through cancer and help someone else in return? Purchase a Courage Over Cancer tag, and in doing so we’ll give a Recovery Tee to someone in need. 

About courage2conquercancer

At the age of 40, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. This is an account of my journey from my discovery and beyond.
This entry was posted in breast cancer, chemo, mastectomy, reconstruction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

