July 9, 2015: Drain Be…?

Another doctor’s visit today. Man, I’m keeping a lot of folks in business these days. I had hoped this drain would get to come out. Yes, I know he said 7-14 days but to me six seemed close enough. I guess I need to do some more research on our Recovery Tees because that drain is sticking to me until at least Monday. 

I also learned today that my infection came back as a staph infection. As I was looking up the causes of staph infection guess what I found? “Cancer, especially those undergoing chemotherapy or radiation are at high risk of developing staph.” (per the Mayo Clinic’s website) Hmmm…I guess I’ll add to those stats. I hate that! 

The doctor did say everything was looking great. That’s good to hear. I thought I might have a new pool of fluid, but it turned out to be the pectoral muscle that had been stretched by the expander to form my new boob. We need it to stay soft and squishy, so it’ll be easier to restretch once this stupid infection is gone. I’m learning so much I never thought I needed to know. Life is full of those learn as you go type of lessons. 

Another positive is I’m noticing an increase in my energy level. If you’ve been following me throughout this journey, you know my energy was zapped so hard. I’m so thankful for the noticeable increase. I still get wiped out at times and have to stop and take a break, but the improvement is worth celebrating!

People always ask, “How can I pray for you specifically?” Well, I have an answer for that tonight. Pray for my psyche. It’s taken a huge hit this go around. I have much to praise God for as He has answered so many prayers for us especially this past month. But I’m human and I still have my weaknesses. Thankfully, God’s word brings me comfort. 

Psalm 91:14-15 – “Because he loves me,” says the LORD, “I will rescue him; I will protect him, for he acknowledges my name. He will call on me, and I will answer him; I will be with him in trouble, I will deliver him and honor him.”

About courage2conquercancer

At the age of 40, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. This is an account of my journey from my discovery and beyond.
This entry was posted in breast cancer, faith, reconstruction and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

