July 22, 2015: My Peaceful Place

Before I had a mastectomy, I ran the trails near my house. After surgery, I failed to ever make it back to this quiet, peaceful part of the trails less traveled than most. The trees create a canopy over the trail and no buildings can be seen here. It’s my special place in the city that this country girl doesn’t feel like she’s  suffocating from the city. If that makes any sense at all. 

I’m not a runner. I never liked running. My husband was a runner. Before we moved here, he went back to running. I learned how to run, so we could run together. Somewhere along the way, he stopped running due to injury, but I kept going. In this hideaway place in the trails while running alone, I’d cry, throw my temper tantrums per say, talk to God, and it’s where I came to peace with having cancer. 

I’m still not released to run, but I can walk. I returned to my silent place yesterday and today, and peace still abounds there. I can still escape the city which I’ve needed badly lately. And even though I know God is everywhere, I seem to feel closer to Him in this special carved out piece of land away from all the noise and city distractions. 

I think it’s important for each of us to have our own personal places near where we live where we can escape the craziness, so we can recharge and reconnect. I knew I lived a crazy, busy, stressful & hectic lifestyle, but I didn’t realize how much it hurt me and the ones I love the most until I had cancer, and I was forced to stop, be still, and take note of how much of life I missed because I was “too busy” doing something that seemed so important at the time. It wasn’t really – not when you have a panoramic view of life and all you might lose. 

Life is short, too short. Live BIG!

About courage2conquercancer

At the age of 40, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. This is an account of my journey from my discovery and beyond.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

