August 29, 2015: Restarting Reconstruction

In July, I lost my left expander to a staph infection, so yesterday my plastic surgeon, Dr. Rumalla went in to replace it so reconstruction of both my breasts can continue. He told us he removed everything from the old infected bed which was closer to my armpit. He found a new pocket within the layers of my muscles closer to my sternum to place the new expander. The hope is this placement will help protect it from another infection. This is my last chance at this type of reconstruction. If it has to be removed again, we will have to look at other options. I just have to believe this is all in God’s hands, and there’s a greater purpose than just another surgery.

I can honestly say this has been way worse than getting the expander taken out, but way, way better than having a total mastectomy with reconstruction. I’m home. I’m not in a great deal of pain and haven’t been except for the hour or so after I came out from under anesthesia. I’ve been on walks without getting nauseated. My drain already contains a lighter color of red fluid which means the internal bleeding is starting to slow. My greatest pain is at my incision sight and on the middle of my breast plate where the muscle was pulled so much. 

I feel blessed to be doing so well. I was very apprehensive about this surgery. About 30 minutes before my surgery Joshua 1:9 popped up on my phone. This verse has carried me through so many rough times. It reads: “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go.”

I pray this verse over two of my high school classmates’ sons. They could both use your prayers as well as prayers for their families and friends. Kage was accidently shot in the face. Colton just had a brain tumor removed. God has taught me through all I’ve been through that we are only in control of the faith we have in Him. I pray they cling to their faith in God. We may never understand His ways this side of Heaven, but we must know deeply that God has a plan, and regardless of what it is – it is good!

About courage2conquercancer

At the age of 40, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. This is an account of my journey from my discovery and beyond.
This entry was posted in reconstruction and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

