September 1, 2015

I see her in the distance.
I know her all too well.

Some days I feel like I can touch her.

Other times she’s barely a mist of a shadow.

I love her.

I miss her.

I hate to tell her goodbye.

Yet. I no longer know her:

Nor do I know me.

The image is all wrong,

But the heart purer,

Faith stronger,

Broken heart – 

No!

Cracked,

But healing.

A mangled body

But alive.

Slowly

Healing

Same but different.

A stranger in this skin

Yearning for yesterday

But thankful it’s gone.

Grateful for this moment –

A perfect gift for imperfection.

A hopeful tomorrow,

Another chance to give,

To make a difference,

To change,

To give without taking,

To just be,

To know this life is short,

No promise but this moment;

So live it,

Love it,

Believe in its purpose,

And know

We were all created beautifully

In God’s image.

For He has a plan,

And it is good!

About courage2conquercancer

At the age of 40, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. This is an account of my journey from my discovery and beyond.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

