September 6, 2015: Post Surgical Update

It’s been nine days since my surgery. This is my third surgery requiring surgical drains, so I feel like I’m getting a little too well versed in these tubes and bulbs. This time has been different though. I’m still losing between 50-60cc of fluid a day. It still looks way too much like blood for my liking and the staw-like color you hope for has yet to show. 

My expander had to be placed between layers of muscle in the hopes of protecting it a little bit more from infection. Perhaps this is why I’m producing more fluid loss. I just know I seem more fatigued each day instead of feeling stronger. I don’t like it. 

This experience has been much different in many ways. Thankfully, I’m not suffering from a tremendous amount of pain or even discomfort at this point. There’s my joyful praise to God. My second praise is there hasn’t been any signs of infection. This was a huge concern. I am on antibiotics I take three times a day too though. Tomorrow is my last day on those. Pray the infection is gone and no other ones return. 

Tamoxifen is basically a low dose of daily chemo. I had to start it Sept. 1st. I had some problems with anxiety a couple days later. I felt like I was being chased by the boogie man is the best way I can describe what I was feeling. So last night I started taking this pill at night instead of the morning. No boogie man issues last night or today, so maybe this will be an easy fix to that  problem. 

About courage2conquercancer

At the age of 40, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. This is an account of my journey from my discovery and beyond.
This entry was posted in After chemo, Remission, Survivor. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

