September 10, 2015: Not the News I Wanted to Hear Today

It’s been 13 days since my surgery to replace my infected expander, so I was excited to go back to my plastic surgeon today. It’s past time to get my drain taken out. I was feeling very hopeful, especially since they’ve gone from looking like this 

 
To looking like this 

 
Way better, right? Yes and no. It’s great it isn’t mostly blood. It’s bad because there’s still too much of it. I’m still draining between 50-60cc of fluid a day. I need to be draining less than 20cc in a 24 hour timeframe in irder to get this drain taken out. So prayers are appreciated. Thank you. 

Tuesday, I finished a cycle of antibiotics. Unfortunately, the risk of infection is too great for taking any chances, so I’ll start a new cycle of antibiotics tomorrow. The doctor has to change my antibiotics each cycle to try and keep my body from forming a resistance to them. Ever heard of superbugs? Yeah, well, I don’t want one. The antibiotic I start tomorrow makes me sick though. Prayers are appreciated here too. 

The good news of the appointment came with a successful 50cc fill. This means I at least have the appearance of breasts again. Who knew this woud be such a big deal, but it truly is!

The bad in this is I feel like I had my chest pried open. Every time I breath too deep, get a chill, cough, or sneeze, I feel like I might pass out, and I literally have to fight back the tears. Just walking around doing nothing, take your worst bout of heartburn and times it by about 1,000 and that’ll come close to how this feels. Not fun!

I’ve been cleared to cautiously return to work on Monday. I’ll have to wear my Recovery Tees to school to secure my drains, and my kids will have to just be careful around me. We will go back to the hand sanitizer all the time game to make sure I don’t get any illnesses or infections. 

This surgery has come with a lot of unexpected and frustrating turns, but I’m still hanging in here. God has a plan, and it is good. 

About courage2conquercancer

At the age of 40, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. This is an account of my journey from my discovery and beyond.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to September 10, 2015: Not the News I Wanted to Hear Today

  1. SmiLee says:

    Been where you are… You can do this! Day by day, moment by moment…

    Like

  2. ashlee korte says:

    What an inspiration you are! Praying for You. Thank you for sharing your story.

    Like

  3. I know I can. Thank you for understanding. It’s a process for sure.

    Like

Leave a Reply

