September 17, 2015: Another Day, Another Battle

I went back to my plastic surgeon this afternoon to have my drain taken out and to get another fill. I don’t normally look at the tools doctors use. If I don’t know, it can’t hurt me has seemed like a pretty good coping mechanism through all this. Today, I was in the room a while. My doctor was really busy. Sometimes I don’t have the patience for this, but as I watched multiple mastectomy patients. days out of surgery, go in before me, I didn’t mind the wait. Been there. Done that. That’s something no woman can truly understand unless you’ve done it. As I waited, this was my view.    
Yes, that’s a needle! I shouldn’t have looked. 

My doctor came in and my fears were all confirmed – still too much fluid is draining out of my drain. He tried to do a fill in hopes filling the space would help, but that big needle wasn’t needed today either. My skin was too tight. The possibility of another infection is too great to risk exposure. And so everything has been placed on hold until Monday. All we can do is pray for healing and for NO infection. Another day, another battle to be fought, to be conquered. As discouraging as these past few months have been, I have faith all of this is not without purpose. I can’t see the reasoning. I don’t even have to understand. I just have to have trust that God holds me close and will carry me through this battle too. 

God has a plan, and it is good. 

About courage2conquercancer

At the age of 40, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. This is an account of my journey from my discovery and beyond.
This entry was posted in Complications, reconstruction and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

