October 15, 2015: Some Thoughts On Breast Cancer Awareness

There are two unofficial breast cancer awareness campaigns that seem to upset women. 

So do we . . .  

 
Or do we . . .   

The answer is YES!

If breast cancer is found in the earliest of stages and genetics plays no role in your diagnosis, it’s probably safe to save the tatas and still save the woman. That’s great for these women. Let them celebrate! I know I would. 

If breast cancer is found in later stages, it is aggressive, and/or genetics plays a role in your diagnosis, saving the woman and not the boobies is probably the best choice.

If you have recently tested positive for the BRAC 1 or 2 gene, saving yourself from ever getting cancer by saying goodbye to your boobs shouldn’t be that hard of a choice.  But it is. 

The truth is many of us wish we could save our tatas and all that goes with them, but in doing so we are choosing our boobs over our lives; and frankly, that’s just stupid in my opinion. 

Breast cancer has taught me so much more about so many things that I never even expected. Here are a few. 

  I want to change this to say, “Big or small – Be satisfied with what you’ve got because not having any at all is awful even when they’re fake!” From the time girls start developing boobs, it’s all about how big & perky they are. I can remember as early as 18 wanting a boob job. Totally embarrassed by mine. Why? It’s so stupid. What I wouldn’t give just to have what was real back!
  

Not all boob jobs are created equal. Reconstruction is a very long, emotional, painful, multi-surgical process. Not with the goal of being some hot chick with big, perfect boobs. No, we do it because the world tells us “boobs make us women” and without them we aren’t as self-confident as we should be. It’s sad, but it’s true. Women who don’t choose reconstruction and live life without boobs, or the appearance of such, might truly be the real heroes. I wouldn’t want to do it. I have for 6 weeks. It was one of the most emotional painful times of my life. I didn’t even like my boobs. Remember? But that’s not really true. I just wasn’t satisfied with them. The truth is I’d take them back if they didn’t come diseased. 
  This one is true! It’s the big message that needs to be shared! Know your bodies. Know them well. When they stop feeling or behaving “normally”, you’ll know. Then go get it checked out ASAP! Don’t delay. Time isn’t your friend when you have cancer. 
  This is one of my favorite pictures of myself – EVER! It has nothing to do with how I look. It has everything to do with how I felt this day.  
 Women, don’t be afraid to take off your hats, your scarves, or your wigs. We are not defined by our hair or our boobs. We are defined by our character and our loved ones. Everyone else is just passing by and your boldness will empower them more than you’ll ever know. 

  
Don’t forget – there are lots of cancers! They all have colors too. Behind that color is hope. Hope you’ll survive. Hope you’re family, as well as yourself, doesn’t have to suffer for long. A person fighting cancer and their family doesn’t get to do it in 31 days. Cancer affects us for a lifetime. 

  
And this is how I’ve survived. I have an amazing family and support system, but my God and my faith in Him has carried me through the valleys of darkness and delivered me from the evils of cancer. My first cry for help is to God. My demons all still chase me, but when I stand firm on my faith, they can’t reach me. 

About courage2conquercancer

At the age of 40, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. This is an account of my journey from my discovery and beyond.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to October 15, 2015: Some Thoughts On Breast Cancer Awareness

  1. Early detection saves lives but most women would go into the denial stage, thinking that it probably is benign. To let them be aware that if cancer is detected in the early stages, there would be less treatment and complications should be the goal of this movement.

    Like

Leave a Reply

