October 17, 2015: Race for the Cure, Dallas, TX

At 5:30 in the morning, my daughter, K’Lee, and I made our way to Dallas. I loved having her by my side. It meant more than she will probably ever know.  

 
We were there…

 
I can guarantee you there were women fighting breast cancer who couldn’t be there. We walked for them just as many have ran for me since I had my mastectomy nearly a year ago. My running days will come again thanks to the millions who support breast cancer research and support. I have so very much to be thankful for today. 

One of those things is actually a very special lady. Melissa Knights and I work at the same school, but I can honestly say breast cancer has bonded us like sisters this past year. I wouldn’t have wanted to travel this journey without her support. She’s been amazing. Thank you Melissa for every little and big thing you’ve done for me.  

 We weren’t alone … 

    
 
Even strangers supported us on this day.  

    
 
We walked as survivors.  

   
We marched as survivors.  

    
     
 Other survivors gave us hope for a long, cancer free future!

 Thousands of us gathered together to celebrate some and mourn others.  

 A sea of pink flooded the Dallas streets. It shows just how vast the problem is. Breast cancer affects the lives of so many. Sometimes we don’t even realize how much. 

  
As K’Lee and I walked away from the music and all that was pink, she started to cry. When I asked her why she was crying she told me she hated seeing me in the Survivor March. I asked her why and her response broke my heart, “I’m thankful you’re alive and I understand the celebration, but mommy, I wish you wouldn’t have ever had to fight at all.” Oh, my sweet and innocent child’s pain gushed out of her. Our fight is not ours alone. I’ll tell anyone that most cancer patients don’t go through all the treatments and surgeries for themselves. They fight for the ones they love. This day, this moment, and so many others before it and I’m sure many more after it, prove it is all worth it!

About courage2conquercancer

At the age of 40, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. This is an account of my journey from my discovery and beyond.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

