October 22, 2015: It’s Been a Year

On October 22, 2014, time stood still, was rewound, and moved in fast forward simultaneously. One year later, the world is still spinning, and I’m still living in it. That’s a lot to praise God for! 

 
A year ago, I wasn’t handed a death sentence though. I was given choices. Tough choices. Choices that might put me at risk or might save my life. The problem was I couldn’t see into the future. I couldn’t know the greater risk. I had to make a choice, so I chose to lay my burdens down at God’s feet while I ran with mine. 
It would be in the quiet moments in the morning as my feet pounded pavement that God reassured me and covered me in peace. He told me to trust Him and praise Him through the storm, and He would bless me.  

 
Things happened that seemed so wrong at the time that ended up being exactly what I would need exactly when I needed it. I had to make the choices without all the questions answered, without all the data. God put us at peace. He knew the answers to the unanswered questions. I trusted in His ways.   
My life, the life of my family, my friends, my co-workers, and my students changed forever because of this day. I cherish life a little bit more. My faith in God is much stronger. I’ve been the sparrow and the flowers in the field. I’ve been broken and am currently being restored. I’ve walked in the shadow of darkness, but I didn’t need to fear anything because my God was there to walk beside me or even carry me if needed.     
One year ago, God granted me courage to conquer cancer, and I stand here victorious! My lifeday will forever be Aug. 3rd.   
Joshua 1:9 – “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go.”  
God had a plan. He has a plan. It was and it is good!

About courage2conquercancer

At the age of 40, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. This is an account of my journey from my discovery and beyond.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment