November 5, 2015: When Your Best Isn’t Enough

Today, I was reminded of a much younger me. A me that stood on a free shot line day after day (in all kinds of weather and to cope with every mood) throwing up the exact same shot for hours. A notebook full of charts and graphs wasn’t necessary. I knew the magic number. It was 100 shots out of a hundred every single day. I did it for years. I can remember making 99 shots in a row and missing the last one. I was devasted! Perfection was the goal and good enough wasn’t enough. It wasn’t then. It isn’t now. 

Today, I stood before my peers and admitted my best wasn’t enough, wasn’t good enough. It was just as devasting as the day I missed my 100th shot. I felt like a quitter. I felt like I admitted to being “less than”. And no, it doesn’t matter what everyone else thinks or feels. 

And then God said, “I’ve never asked for perfection just your faith.”

And so it is . . . I step out on faith with the support of my family into a time of healing. God has a plan, and it is good. 

About courage2conquercancer

At the age of 40, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. This is an account of my journey from my discovery and beyond.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to November 5, 2015: When Your Best Isn’t Enough

  1. Stefanie Parent says:

    Now you can practice your favorite mom free throws. Same Kandi, just on a new path.

    Like

Leave a Reply

