November 16, 2015: Anything But an Ordinary Walk

Today, I went on a walk. Clicking away at those miles might be one goal but it’s far from the only goal. One thing I decided to do was use my walk time as a time to really connect with God. I’ve learned over the past year that connection can look and be very different from one instance to the next. I’ve accepted God has a plan, and I’m to just roll with it. 

Before my walk, I pulled on a T-shirt. I have lots to choose from because I’m a T-shirt kind of girl. Perhaps it was random at first, but then it became something very intional. This shirt is a fundraiser shirt for a young man from my hometown. His name is Kage. He was injured in an accident. The last I heard from his mom he was doing really well. I have no reason to think otherwise, but today as I walked I prayed for him, his family, and his friends.  


Kage doesn’t know me. I’ve never met him. I went to school with his mom so that’s our connection to each other. But I have kids, and I’d want someone, anyone, and everyone praying for my kid if something bad happened to them. And I wouldn’t want them to stop just because it appeared as though they were doing good. See, the back of this shirt speaks volumes to me.  

I don’t know all the battles being fought behind closed doors, but I can almost guarantee Kage, his family, or his friends are still struggling with something that stems from Kage’s accident. Therefore, I prayed for the battles being fought I’ll never know about. 

When I finished praying, a song I’d heard before but never really paid attention to the lyrics before today came streaming through my earpiece. It was Love Them Like Jesus by Casting Crowns. I just had to smile. It has a powerful message. 
From now on when I go on my walks to gain that magical number of 10,000 steps, I wonder how many prayers will be sent up to God simply because of the shirt I wear. šŸ™‚

  

About courage2conquercancer

At the age of 40, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. This is an account of my journey from my discovery and beyond.
This entry was posted in faith. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

