January 10, 2016: About That Boob Job

Me: I have breast cancer. 

Many Other People’s Reply: At least you get a free boob job out of the deal. 

 

  1. It’s NOT free!
  2. It’s not a boob job. It’s an amputation with prosthetics. There’s a HUGE difference!

  

I joked about it too. You know why? Because I had no clue. You know why else? I needed to know there was hope. And there is. Plus, I needed the comedy relief in order to accept what was about to happen to me, and it helped. 

 

But there’s also the dark side called reality. This is where you might want to stop reading. Ignorance and denial are powerful tools at times. If you continue to read, please note these are my truths and may not be yours. We are all different; therefore, we heal differently. 

 

  • No matter what, fake will never be real. Real is better unless they are diseased, and then fake is the next best illusion. 
  • I have a numb breast. I’m pretty sure it could catch on fire and I would not know. 
  • Mine are bigger than my real ones were. Some might think that’s an added bonus, but it creates some issues. 
  • The muscles are tight from long periods of restricted movement (basically 13 months), so there’s a painful pulling on my bad shoulder. The good news is physical therapy should fix all these issues in time. 
  • They look different. Maybe that shouldn’t bother me. Maybe I should be use to it, but I’m hopeful finishing surgery will help with the psychological part of this. 
  • They change the way I have to stand, walk, and run. 
  • Cleavage- I have some. It’s the “gift” I got, I guess. 
  • They sit differently. It’s not a bad thing. It’s just different. 
  • They change the way my clothes fit. This will take some getting used to. I’m so not a fashion diva either. 

 

If you’re about to walk this path, for me at least, it’s been worth it. BUT if you decide to go a different route, don’t let anyone take you down or belittle you. Boobs don’t define us. How we choose to fight and live does!

 

Be courageous! Fight the good fight! Have faith because God has a plan, and it is good!

About courage2conquercancer

At the age of 40, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. This is an account of my journey from my discovery and beyond.
This entry was posted in breast cancer, mastectomy, reconstruction. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to January 10, 2016: About That Boob Job

  1. Congrats! Yes, I’m taking a different route. I already have enough troubles with this illness to bother with getting new boobs.

    Like

Leave a Reply

