March 12, 2016: When Others Pray

At the beginning of my cancer journey, a rush of people came to my aid, stood by my side, helped in unimaginable ways, and promised to pray for me, my spouse, and my children. It’s been nearly 18 months since then, and I’ve finished chemo and am nearing the end of all my surgical procedures. 

 

Today, I walked into Elm Grove Community Church. I’ve been there once or twice before. I know two people (my mom & Frank) that attend on a regular basis, but many in the congregation know me. There was something so uplifting and amazing to know that these strangers have never stopped praying for me. My name remains on their prayer list. Many shook my hand and told me they were so glad I was able to be there. Wow! What a blessing they poured out on me this morning. 

 

I’d like to personally thank each of the prayer warriors who still pray for my family and me. The cancer may be gone, the treatment may be over, and I may be healing in many ways, but this journey is far from over and the struggles are a part of my every day. But when others pray, the burden isn’t as heavy and knowing that means I never have to carry any load alone. Thank you and may God pour his favor over you.  

  
 

About courage2conquercancer

At the age of 40, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. This is an account of my journey from my discovery and beyond.
This entry was posted in breast cancer, faith, Remission, Survivor, telling others. and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to March 12, 2016: When Others Pray

  1. I think your blog is truly amazing and so hopeful and honest too. What you say about the time after treatment is over is so true. No matter how varied the diagnosis or the treatment, cancer changes the way you are. I really understand the anxiety. Existentially you have faced your own mortality over and over again sometimes and life is not the same. It alters your spiritual DNA .My friend who survived ovarian cancer calls those who have been through cancer members of The C club. Members seem to have this in common. You know with a clarity hard to put into words that you are vulnerable and that life is a fragile gift. That doesn’t mean you are not grateful, brimming with gratitude in fact; it’s just that the experience marks you forever much more than the physical scars..Thank you for talking about this so eloquently.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

