May 27, 2016: Don’t Wear Make-up

Before I started chemotherapy, I read make-up and chemo didn’t always like each other and to consider going without if possible. That wasn’t a huge sacrifice for me. I’ve never been a huge make-up wearer anyway. Once you loose your hair, eyelashes and eyebrows, you really don’t want to draw attention to yourself anyway. It was an easy thing to give up. 

 

Those days are over . . . or so I thought. I have to take a pill called Femara every day. It’s basically a small dose of chemo each day to keep my hormones suppressed in the hopes I’ll never get breast cancer again. You’d think this tiny pill wouldn’t come with many side effects, but you’d be wrong. Poor sleeping patterns has always been an issue for me, so this one I don’t even worry about. Headaches come and go and aren’t like migraines just more of an annoyance. Hot flashes are trying to melt me. I hate them. This makes them worse. Joint pain and swelling – this has created pain and discomfort that is made worse by this rainy weather. And eye make-up burns my eyes – bad! So no more make-up. I just can’t do it. 

About courage2conquercancer

At the age of 40, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. This is an account of my journey from my discovery and beyond.
This entry was posted in side effects, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

