June 24, 2016: Broken

Broken is a story many don’t want to tell. We hide it behind clothes, houses, cars, jobs, relationships, friends, and families. We are typically ashamed of our brokenness. It’s viewed negatively, so we put up walls and walk through life covering up who we are for fear no one will like or understand who we really are. The vicious cycle becomes our lives and why so many struggle with the simplest, yet most complicated questions of all, “Who am I, and what’s my purpose?”

 

What if we valued each other’s brokenness? What if we could understand that our brokenness is who we are and gives us purpose? Think of a diamond. 

Hmmm…it’s HUGE, but it isn’t what most of us would want on our fingers. Why? Because the value is in its brokenness. 

 

Look at this wheat field. It’s gorgeous!

But it’s not worth much until it’s been cut and sold. The value is here:


 

Could it be possible that we were actually created to be broken in order to be worthy? 

 

I haven’t lived life as long as many, but I’ve lived it long enough to know that I’ve been broken more times than I care to admit. Sometimes, I tried to cover it up in “beauty” and other times it hid behind “ugliness”. What I failed to understand then, and am only now beginning to grasp, is when I’m broken I’m made more valuable. There’s a reason scar tissue is stronger because whatever caused them made us stronger. 

 

There’s a song from my childhood I used to sing in church. I can’t recall the name of it, but it was a request to Jesus to break me and make me whole. There’s another song that is really a prayer that says, “Break me, Oh, Lord!” There’s a verse in one of the Psalms I believe that talks about finding joy and rejoicing in my bones that have been crushed by God. To those who can’t see that the greatness comes in the shattered life, the brokenness, none of that makes sense. When all is well, we often feel like that beautiful wheat field waving in the breeze, but that beautiful wheat field is dead! And when left unattended by the farmer, it becomes wasted beauty until it rots or is burnt away. And behind every sparkling, gorgeous diamond is an ordinary stone that’s been broken into beauty. 

About courage2conquercancer

At the age of 40, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. This is an account of my journey from my discovery and beyond.
This entry was posted in faith, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

