August 3, 2016: Today’s Worth Celebrating!

Today’s worth celebrating! Every day is actually, and this date reminds me why every day should be cherished. 

 

August 3rd, 2015, I was told I was in remission! At that moment in time, NO cancer could be detected in my body. Every surgery, every scar, every drained financial account, and every round of chemo had been worth it. One more day . . . it’s what we all wish for when someone we love and care about is gone, and I had just been granted more days. God granted me more time and put me on a mission to help others suffer a little less, to heal a little more comfortably, and to know someone out there cared about their recovery process. 

 

To me today is HUGE! It’s an important day, and I want to celebrate it! Why? Because just as no day is guaranteed in life, no year of remission is guaranteed either. Even though there are many breast cancer survivors, twenty-eight percent of women given my diagnosis won’t get to celebrate their 5th year in remission. I have much to accomplish, and I don’t know how many days or years God has granted me. I only know I have a purpose to give and to help, and a passion to make breast cancer surgeries and treatment a little better for those who have to follow in my footsteps. 

 

Earlier this month, I asked my friends, family, followers and strangers to give at least $1 to our non-profit, Courage Conquering Cancer, so we could provide Recovery Tees and hopefully gift at least 10 Mastectomy Recovery Care Packages to women in-need. Nearly 250,000 women will be diagnosed with breast cancer this year, so many women need our help! It might seem like just a shirt or a bag of goodies to you, but to a woman with breast cancer these items are needed to help heal from surgery and treatment. So today will be my final request for you to donate to our cause in celebration of my first year in remission.

 

Until there’s a cure, please give the gift of recovery! Today, our goal is to raise at least $875. If you can give (even $1), please do it today, so we can help women tomorrow. 

 

Please donate here: http://www.couragetoconquercancer.com/index.php/donate/donate-amount.html

About courage2conquercancer

At the age of 40, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. This is an account of my journey from my discovery and beyond.
This entry was posted in after cancer, fundraiser, give back, mastectomy, Remission, Survivor and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

