November 11, 2016: Casting for Recovery Day 1

Casting for Recovery is a retreat for breast cancer survivors. This was my second year to put my name in for the lottery, and I was chosen to attend this weekend in Glen Rose, TX. Besides driving through the thicket of traffic that bogs down DFW during rush hour, it’s already been a very calm and peaceful start to the weekend.  

 

I arrived later than most because I didn’t feel like I could afford to take off from work. I arrived in time for dinner though which I feared I might actually miss. It was a little uncomfortable at first because it seemed everyone already knew people, and I felt a little out of place. That lasted all of maybe ten minutes. The great thing about being around other people who’ve had cancer is no matter your age, profession or background, you automatically have something in common. 

 

After dinner, we did this activity on mindfulness. I have the word “truth”. I’m supposed to be mindful of this word all week, and at the end of the retreat on Sunday we are going to discuss how our words spoke to us over the weekend. We also received 4 tiny flies, but they are for our hats and not so much to fish with. A man, who has since pasted away, made boxes for the survivors who come to this retreat. That makes them a little extra special. 

 

After dinner, we took a fly tying class. This contraption and directions is very intimidating at first glance. 

But one of the staff members showed us how to make one and helped us understand all these new and foreign words too!

 

I’m actually pretty good at tying flies. It’s a very relaxing process for me if I were to be honest. 

Now will these little guys actually catch any fish? I’ll have to get back with you on that. 😏

 

Another lady on the staff made us each our own pouch to hold all our fly making material. She even did the stitching on each of them. So sweet!

 

A fly shop from Wyomimg donated us a fly case and a guy from Oklahoma tied us all a variety of wet flies and dry flies. 

And then in our goodie bags left on our beds were even more flies. 

It’s been the day of the fly! 

  

I’ve gotten to know a few of the women, and I look forward to getting to know all of them before I go back home. 

 

Tomorrow is the day of the knot. I’ll have to let you know how that goes.

 

If you’re a breast cancer survivor, check out Casting for Recovery. They have retreats all over the United States. 

About courage2conquercancer

At the age of 40, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. This is an account of my journey from my discovery and beyond.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

