April 6, 2017: I Am Complete

About a year ago, I underwent my last cancer surgery. I had felt as though I was a small sliver of the person I once was. But what is life like now? 

 

  • I no longer exist. I live life to the fullest!
  • I can rise before the sun and stay up until midnight and still function the next day. 
  • I’m not sickly. 
  • I sleep most nights. 
  • I roll with the waves of life a lot better now. 
  • The sun can turn my skin red in less than 30 minutes with or without sunscreen. 
  • I take a hormone blocker every day. Chemo in a pill. 
  • I’m still in remission. 
  • I live between a 2-4 pain rating every day. I’ve adjusted. I’ve learned to cope. Some days I’m numb to it all. Other days, it takes every ounce of determination I have to get out of bed. It’s my new “normal”. 
  • I have hair long enough to put in a ponytail. This is a good, good thing especially during this icky hair stage. 
  • The scars and unnaturalness no longer freaks me out or takes me by surprise. To be honest, two tattoos changed my self conscious. 
  • My memory is returning thanks to brain games and a daily structure to reconnect all the wires inside my brain. 
  • I’ve started to slowly, let me stress slowly, lose some of the weight I packed on while on chemo. 
  •  Nothing warms my heart more than hearing from other women about how Courage to Conquer Cancer’s Recovery Tee helped them through their journey against breast cancer. These words alone help me see why I went through what I did.
  • I’m not perfect. I never was. I never will be. But “…we also find glory in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance:perseverance, character; and character, hope.” (Romans 5:3-4). I could have quit. I could have taken an easier way out. Instead, I’ve praised God through the months and years of storms and in return He’s shown me beauty in the ashes of a life not destroyed but restored! He asked me to have faith. He asked of nothing more from me. My journey has been a miraculous trek from believing I was in control to having a desire to be a faithful servant. 
  • I am complete. 

God had a plan. It saved my life in every sense of the word!


About courage2conquercancer

At the age of 40, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. This is an account of my journey from my discovery and beyond.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

