June 18, 2017: What I Miss About Chemo

Today marks the 2nd year anniversary of my last chemo treatment. Eighteen days of my life were spent in a beige, leather recliner underneath a chemo pole. What could I possibly miss about the entire process? People! Yes, I miss the people. I miss the nurses. It takes a special person to work in oncology. We come in looking healthy and leave looking sick, yet they have faith that it worked and was worth it. I loved their positive attitudes and the majority were some of the kindest people I’ve ever met. I miss this old man that came with his wife. He looked like Santa Claus without most of his teeth, but he was a joy. He was always passing out something. What a sweet man. I miss this lady that always had her grandkids with her. Sometimes one of them but often both of them. I loved how they were just present. There was a teacher who graded papers. She taught math. She would grade until the stack was finished or until she went to sleep. Chemo seems to make many of us a sleepy. She made me thankful for my team at school that took care of all the school stuff while I was away. Melissa was a part of that team. She was my constant cheerleader and a vital part of my support team. Thank you. I miss the pharmacist that apologized every time Jon picked up my meds for me. He knew better than many just how much of a finiancial burden cancer could be. He was kind. I loved that my husband was there. It was boring to sit up there for hours and hours surrounded by others sitting beneath the bags of cocktails and chemo, yet he came time after time. I never sat alone. I never had to do chemo by myself. I’ll never be able to thank him enough. I actually miss that the most about chemo. The hours and hours of time spent together. There’s nothing that can ever take that precious time away. The keenness he always had. His care and kindness. His passion for protection over me. He was my Prince Charming. Exactly what you pray a husband will be but without the cancer, chemo, and almost dying part. I don’t think anyone dreams of that!

 

So what do I miss about chemo? People. What you do makes a difference. Be kind!

Summer 2017

Summer 2016

Summer 2015

Summer 2014

About courage2conquercancer

At the age of 40, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. This is an account of my journey from my discovery and beyond.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

